Direct Energy Reviews

Show reviews that mention
service bill customer customer service phone contract people rate account money
Filter review

Terrible Customer service

Currently on hold for the 3rd time after being cut off twice while wanting for a supervisor after customer service rep kept speaking over me.

User's recommendation: Look elsewhere.

View full review
ID
#2124511 Review #2124511 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta

Phone Harrassment

When I discovered they were charging me 3x the amount that DTE Energy was, I cancelled my service. They have called me 50 FIFTY FREAKING TIMES since 6/22/20

User's recommendation: do NOT fall for this scam.

View full review
1 comment
#1905918

It is usually best to not answer the cell phone from an unrecognized number. "Tis also usually best to get your energy service from DTE or Consumers Energy, etal.

Better service. These other firms entice you to switch to them with lower rates---for one year, at which time the rates go up, usually higher than DTE, etc.

ID
#2100518 Review #2100518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Baltimore, Michigan

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very upset

Do not go with this company!!!! I terminated my contract with direct energy a couple months early since their rates were high as any business would and now I am being sent an early termination bill of 3400$!!!! Who does this??? Ive heard of termination fees of a couple hundred but 3400$???? I was never mailed a copy of a contract and the short emailed contract I was sent via DocuSign does not indicate such fees. I would have been happy to pay a reasonable fee but this is no way to do business. Stay clear of this company.

User's recommendation: Stay away.

View full review
1 comment
#1893929

Good afternoon, Dan. It is really sad to know that we have lost you as a part of our family!

We are really worried for the situation you are describing on this review, we appreciate you take the time to share your experience with us and we would appreciate the opportunity to take a closer look at your case, we will do our best to provide you a solution. Please connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we'll be waiting for you. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Please take care and be safe! - Camila / Digital Care

ID
#2056443 Review #2056443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

To file a complaint

Trying to get new services!!!

User's recommendation: Don't know yet!

View full review
1 comment
#1887706

Hi Luiza, Welcome to Direct Energy. We would love to help you with all the questions you may have for a new service.

It will be a pleasure to help with your energy needs. Please feel free to contact us at 1-86*-***-****, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m.

- 5:00 p.m.

CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! – Emma / Digital Care

ID
#2025979 Review #2025979 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Service
Direct Energy Sales Representative
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
ONCE AGAIN this company has scammed unsuspecting elderly people in the community!!!!!! First they go door to door and pressure people into switching to their company. Then, once you're able to get out of their service, they start calling your home (since they already...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#1953243

They scammed my 92-year-old father too. This should be listed as elderly abuse!

View more comments
ID
#1862612 Review #1862612 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
New Reviewer

I think I got scammed

I found out they have been on my gas bill since 2009, overcharging me. I got a notice from the gas company with their price, which was about one third the price I have been paying for well over a year. The third party billing (for nothing!) just about triples my bill monthly. These people are scammers, taking advantage of the elderly and disabled. I asked to see a copy of any contract I signed, and they said they don't have one.

User's recommendation: Stay away from this company!

View full review
1 comment
#1860175

Good afternoon, PissedConsumer185****. We appreciate you taking time from your day to leave us a review.

I certainly understand where you are coming from regarding the rate. Here at Direct Energy, as a Supplier, we are able to purchase energy at wholesale prices, as needed, and may be able to sell it at a lower price. For this reason, we are able to offer price protection, with a wide variety of price options and term lengths, competitive pricing, and more products or incentives. One of the terms and conditions that we described in your contract is that after the contract expires the plan will be a move to a variable rate that probably changes once a month and to avoid that situation, we normally send a renewal letter in advance that way you can continue with the price protection.

We would like to give you more details about your situation and find more details of how you were enrolled with us and provide you the proof of the contract that you are looking for. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team or you can reach us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to solve your concern.

We look forward to hearing from you soon! - Emma / Digital Care

ID
#1850492 Review #1850492 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • No pros
Cons
  • Are a bunch of cons
Loss
$100000
Preferred solution
I'm trying to GET AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I'm sure I won't get back all the money I have been overcharged over the last 10 years.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unable to contact them about billing problems

They suddenly changed the billing date without telling me. When I went to check the epost bills, they haven't been sending me any. When I go on their website it won't recognise the account number. There is no email address to complain to. Their phone lines are down because of coronavirus and no-one answers. In short, it's impossible to contact them about any problems that arise. Have had to change my service provider because of this.

User's recommendation: Ok as long as you never need to contact them.

View full review
ID
#1846817 Review #1846817 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
Service
Direct Energy Gas Supply
Pros
  • It was ok til now
Cons
  • Lack of contact information
Preferred solution
I want all the missing bills sent to me by regular mail
Apparently my fixed rate contract ended in June, July 2019 they doubled the price per therm from 39 cents to 70 cents, August went to 90 cents, Sept to December they charged $1.05 per therm, January was $1.00 and February was $95 cents. The coldest months for gas is...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1860170

Good afternoon, PissedConsumer183****. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.

We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your rate price. We send renewal reminders approximately 2 cycles before a fixed-rate term is ending. The end of terms notice would have included the expiration date of the contract, instructions on how to renew into another fixed-rate plan and the important disclosure that states if we do not hear from you by the expiration date, the account will automatically move to the month to month, variable rate pricing. Please be advised that a variable rate may vary (up and down) up to once a month based on the market conditions.

Our goal is always to operate as transparently as possible and in the best interests of our customers. We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at your account and work with you to provide you a solution. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team or you can reach us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to solve your concern.

We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Camila / Digital Care

ID
#1830612 Review #1830612 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Batavia, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Please avoid

Direct Energy - Please avoid
Sketchy salesman demanded to see my DTE Energy Bill, told me he could save me money if I signed a fixed rate Gas contract with Direct Energy. I asked what happens once the contract runs out, and he said it would just switch back to DTE unless I renewed the contract. Well, the contract ran out and they TRIPLED my gas cost. It did not switch back to DTE. I called up to figure out what was going on and they said if I leave them they will still bill me the next 1-3 billing cycles at .93 (ish) per 100 cubic feet of natural gas. To put this in perspective, DTE is charging .255 for 100 cubic feet of natural gas. I'm literally getting scammed out of $100-150 a month for this until it swaps back over in a couple of months.
View full review
2 comments
#1851745

Hi Craig. We are definitely concerned that the sales representative did not properly explain the transition off of a contracted rate plan.

When fixed rate plans expire, our system will automatically transition an account to a non-contract rate to avoid an interruption in service. Under our variable or non-contract rate pricing, the rate we set each month is based on the company evaluation of market conditions. Market conditions the company may consider include, among other items: the prevailing price of energy on the market, costs involved in moving the energy from the producer to the utility, our total acquisition costs for the energy, and the prevailing rates offered by the utility and other competitors. To circle back to what the representative told you before, this is something we would like the chance to follow-up on to provide coaching if possible.

Please reach out to us through Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/ or Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ to continue forward with opening this investigation.

Thank you for your time. – Megan / Digital Care

#1853152
@HWACares

Already tried reaching out, your company had no interest in helping me out or refunding extra costs incurred. The non-contract rate and "market conditions" rate of the local provider is around 20 cents.

Direct Energy's rate was over 90 cents. If you don't feel like that's off, I don't know what to tell you.

View more comments (1)
ID
#1811549 Review #1811549 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Direct Energy Gas Supply
Cons
  • Cancellation terms
  • Sneaky rate increases
  • Innacurate and confusing biiling
Loss
$700
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Fraud ..

They will tell you that the charges will reduce by half. They will compare their supply only charge vs. your current (Supply + delivery charges) and convince that there rates are reducing. Your utility will continue to charge their delivery charge as normal or more. Your total bill will increase my 20/25%. You will find out once the bills stay coming!!
View full review
1 comment
#1851736

Good afternoon, Mohan. I do apologize for any confusion regarding promised savings by a prior agent.

What we offer is price protection! There is definitely a possibility of savings, but it's not something we can guarantee. I can check to see if our prices have gone down and lock you in at a lower rate if possible. It wouldn’t take more than a few minutes to discuss your options and see what we can do to help resolve this for you.

Please connect with our Live Chat team through our website https://www.directenergy.com/ to move forward with this opportunity.

Thank you. - Megan / Digital Care

ID
#1807716 Review #1807716 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Do not waste your time, truly not worth it.

Update by user Jun 30, 2020

UPDATE 6/30/2020 The link provided by someone at the company just sent me bouncing around form chat to chat to chat. All saying they cannot help me and give me a bunch of phone numbers to try that again either blind transfer me to a line that is not taking calls, customer service person that state it is with accounting since January 2020, or transferred from person to person that cannot help!

I am still waiting for my approved refund for work done all while they have no issue billing me every month like clock work. How can a company be in business if they are keep money that they have already approved because I pay for a service that they could not render in my area. They approved the refund because they couldn't assist.

They tried sending multiple plumbers that would call and say no they do not service my area, they approve a refund and refuse to send the funds! This is the WORST customer service I have ever dealt with.

Original review posted by user Feb 21, 2020
We have been using Home Warranty of America as our home protection plan for the inside of our house. When they offered Direct Energy plans for the outside we said sure, we have great experience with HWA and if linked up sure. WOW they are the opposite of HWA. HWA is helpful and true to their word. Direct Energy has been a nightmare. We had a sewer line collapse less then a foot from our homes foundation. We called and made a claim. The required we use their plumber, we had sewer/black water all in our basement and first floor but said fine we will wait for your plumber to fix the line even though we had someone ready to go. A day and a half later they said that the plumber was about to call us to schedule. The plumber calls to tell us they do service our area. The fight begins to get them to approve our plumber. THEY NEVER DO until weeks after we have the work done I call to cancel the plan and they say please don't we will fix this. A week later the claim was approved to use our plumber, we send them proof of work/invoice, they call us again we need proof you paid. OK, send them the statement because we had to finance the work, the call again after a few weeks and say we are approved up to the max allowed and they are putting in for the refund check. Great! This was around December 4, 2019. We are in February 21, 2020 and we still have not received and every time we call since January they tell us the check need to go into process and then its another 3-5 weeks. I ask to speak so a supervisor and they never have one avail, never. I have called they have hung up, or kept us on the phone for hours with no resolutions, or blind transfer me to people and I go back in the same circle. At this point they are scamming us, paying for a service and not get said services. Truly not worth the time or aggravation.
View full review
1 comment
#1851629

Hello Mary Ellen! We are sorry to see that you had a poor experience.

We always aim to provide an excellent customer experience and are disappointed to learn otherwise. If there is anything we can do to assist with this claim, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. You can connect with our Live Chat team through the following link: https://www.directenergy.com/home-protection/. We look forward to hearing from you and getting your claim to a resolved status.

Thank you and have a great day! - Megan / Digital Care

ID
#1800353 Review #1800353 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Direct Energy Electric Repair Essentials Protection Plan
Loss
$5
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Buyer Beware!

In November of 2019, I moved to a new home and still had my previous residence. My new home is 20 minutes from my old home. I get my gas bill from Nicor for my new home and it is $85 for a full month at my new residence. Same full month bill for my previous residence is $227. SAME THERMS USED, this makes no sense. So I study my bill and find at my new residence everything comes directly from Nicor. On my previous residence, my energy supplier is listed as Direct Energy. Direct Energy has been raping me! I contact Nicor and they tell me that I have to take it up with Direct Energy. I call Direct Energy and they tell me apparently I signed up with them in 2017. Apparently it was originally a fixed rate contract. Customer service rep told me I originally had a 24 month contract so it expired and I didn't renew my contract so my account went to a variable rate. Apparently I should have received some sort of notification in the mail regarding this, though I have no recollection of this. So apparently if you don't submit a response to their mailings, they feel they can do whatever the heck they want to with your account. I never would have agreed to have them do whatever they wanted with my account. Where was this written? They offered to send me a copy of the document that they supposedly sent me. I refused because it is not merely the fact of what they say the document says but the fact that I do not recall receiving this document and the fact that IT IS NOT, AT ANY TIME, APPROPRIATE to do whatever the heck you want with a customer's account. If my contract expired and they did not receive renewal, how about sending me back to my previous supplier, which would have been Nicor? Every excuse they gave me sounded like a bunch of blah, blah, blah, sorry customer, but this is your problem, not ours. I demanded to talk to someone higher. A few days later, a customer service rep from the office of Direct Energy president (yeh, right) calls me back and gives me the same line of bull. Interestingly she tells me I originally had a 20 month contract. I said, wait- now it was a 20 month contract? she confirmed 20 months. Which raises more red flags, what the heck was it really and why is the story changing? I told them how I always paid my bill on time and yes, I had previously noticed an increase in my bill, but being a single mom with two kids and two jobs, I did not have the time to question it before. Honestly I guess I am so naive that I didn't think that I had to question the validity of a HEATING bill, a basic living expense. I didn't know such companies had goals of ripping off customers. Sure, I've heard of getting ripped off for cell phone companies, cable companies, credit card companies, etc....but this is a very basic living expense. You have got to be kidding me. Comparing therms with my new home, I quickly estimated that they must have ripped me off at least $500 just over the last few months alone. I told her how I came to this conclusion. I told them they have a very dishonest company who does not have its customers' best interests in mind. I said a bunch of things that I have no regrets saying because it is darn true. They should be ashamed of themselves, taking advantage of people for a basic living expense. It's sick. So after spending all this time on the phone arguing with these people, she offers to send me a check for $100. That was even more insulting. That I pointed out at least $500 in overcharges and she thought I was going to wait for a $100 check to come in the mail to shut me up. I told her so.....she got huffy. She said, are you going to accept the $100 or not? I said I would not accept $100 to shut me up. She didn't like my answer. She said, well if you decide you want the $100, you call me back. I could no longer stand it. I hung up on her. May this company rot in a dark hole. They depend on ordinary people not having the time or energy to keep track or argue these things. I barely have the energy to write all this here but I have to warn others. Stick with NICOR, or keep careful diligence over these things. Don't assume these "choice suppliers" have good intentions. I have contacted Nicor and requested to be put on the "no contact" list for any other suppliers. Other than that, Nicor probably won't give a care, as I am not certain I have the energy to fight with them over this too. They should not have Direct Energy on their list of suppliers, knowing that they rape their customers.
View full review
1 comment
#1851627

Good morning, Michele. We are very disappointed to hear how your experience with us has unfolded.

Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have re-established the peace of mind that comes with having a trusted supplier company working with them. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding your account referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may take a closer look for you. Our Live Chat team https://www.directenergy.com/ and Social Media team https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ are available Monday - Friday 8:00 am through 5:00 pm CST. Thank you for your time.

We hope you have a great weekend. - Megan / Digital Care

ID
#1796165 Review #1796165 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Direct Energy Gas Supply
Cons
  • Variable price scam
  • Innacurate and confusing biiling
  • Rude call center personal
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

DO NOT USE AS YOUR ESCO (Energy Supply Company)

Update by user Apr 13, 2020

The company responded they sent out a notice. Wow, they sent a letter in the day and age of endless junk mail, thanks for that!!

Take notice they did not dispute what I wrote. Where's the ethics of tripling a rate upon a contract expiration?

I stand by my review, just avoid using them!!! Why would anyone sign up for a program knowing the rate will triple if you don't respond to some form letter mailing.

Original review posted by user Feb 17, 2020
I signed up for Direct Energy to provide electricity as my ESCO. I anticipated saving a few dollars of my electric bill and everything was fine until the contract ran out, then suddenly the rate they charged per KWH more than tripled. I called to understand what happened, they said when the contract ended, the rate adjusted to their current non contract rate. They said I could sign a new contract to lower my rate (they would not go back and retro adjust). I declined and asked to switch back to the utility. By the time I caught the new rate and switched back the service, I wound up being overcharged for three months, I estimate I paid almost $500 more than I should have. The kicker is contract rate only saved me a couple of dollars a month versus what the utility would have charged. Just save yourself a headache and do not use them.
View full review
2 comments
#1849804

Good afternoon, and thank you for the feedback. We apologize if there was any confusion surrounding your fixed-rate contract expiration.

We do send out notices 60 days ahead of expiration so that our customers are aware and have plenty of time to pick a new fixed-rate plan.

If there are any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you, and enjoy your day.

#1827074

Same happened to me! They are such a dishonest company!

View more comments (1)
ID
#1795613 Review #1795613 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Buffalo, New York
Service
Direct Energy Customer Care
Loss
$500

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Please dont do it

This company has some serious issues. Their policies are downright unfair and very sketchy in some cases may even be violations of law. If you take a payment extension and pay it off early the rep tells me that their system doesnt recognize it and still expects you to make payments on an extension that technically should not exist any longer. Does this make any dam sense to anyone if it does please explain it to me?
View full review
1 comment
#1851624

Good morning, Karen. We can understand your frustration given the current situation.

We want the chance to help offer clarification. With payment arrangements in order to ensure that the payment plan is not broken, the monthly bills would need to be paid along with the installment amounts. Our system is very particular about how payment arrangements are able to process along with still accepting the new monthly invoices. Any payment that is made will be directed automatically to our system to the oldest balance.

So whichever amount is due first, whether it be a monthly invoice or installment, the system will direct the payment to apply to the oldest balance. In order for payment arrangements to succeed, the payments would need to be paid on the exact date for the agreed amount. To help explain, if a March monthly invoice is still unpaid, but a payment is made for an April installment, the system will automatically have the payment apply towards the monthly invoice due to the fact it was generated first and the amount was not satisfied. We hope this helps!

If you have any further questions or concerns, please know you have the option to connect with us through email directcares@***.com.

Have a great day. - Megan / Digital Care

ID
#1794328 Review #1794328 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Free weekends
Cons
  • Unfair billing practices
Preferred solution
i want my account rights restored to installment if needed

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Don’t give them your time

These people are super rude. They ring the door bell and pound on my door till someone answers the door. Then they have the worst attitudes and try and demand you to show them your current bills. I have been dealing with these rude people for over a year and Im so sick of them.
View full review
1 comment
#1851623

Hello Ashley. I apologize if one of our Door To Door agents provided any poor service to you recently when approaching your home.

We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure all agents are compliant with our policies and to requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please email us at directcares@***.com with the Agent Name, Employee ID or physical description of the representative that came to your door.

Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation. Thank you for your time.

We are looking forward to speaking with you. - Megan / Digital Care

ID
#1784090 Review #1784090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
District 7, Maryland
Service
Direct Energy Sales Representative
Cons
  • Your door to door employees are extremely rude
Preferred solution
Do not knock on my door ever again!