Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor very poor services

Someone woke up this morning and decides to cut my services I have paid on time every month even got confirmation for the services I needed on the 5 July. Your charging me 83 for your mistake not considering all the damages I got my fridge my freezer took pictures to bring to Court

User's recommendation: Never do business with them ever again.

View full review
ID
#3793431 Review #3793431 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Leduc, Alberta
Pros
  • Customet service zero help
Loss
$2400
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Sharing of Mobile App

I would like to know,does Direct Energy provide mobile phone SMS alert messages to electricity customers when their electricity bills are increasing?
View full review
ID
#3762177 Review #3762177 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Udu, Eastern
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Terrible Company

I asked for power to be turned on the same day. They made me pay $100 then after 2, hours it wasn't on so I contacted another company and my power was on without having to pay a fee. I told them I no longer wanted their service because it took too long to turn on and...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3463464 Review #3463464 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Entergy Residential Electricity Supply
Cons
  • Direct energy fraud
  • Rude call center personal
Loss
$121
Preferred solution
Full refund

Was cheated by this company

Direct Energy in Calgary is a dishonest company, which renews its service at a floating rate that is triple of the regular one without obtaining consent from its customers. They may say that they already sent you a notice by mail about this change but you may receive nothing, bear in mind that all previous communications are set as paperless (online, email). If you refuse to accept such ridiculous charge, they have a collection team and contractor starting to bother you. Stay away from this company to prevent shocking bills (Direct Energy, PO Box 1515, STN M, Calgary, AB T2P 4K2).

User's recommendation: Direct Energy in Calgary is a dishonest company, which renews its service at a floating rate that is triple of the regular one without obtaining consent from its customers. They may say that they already sent you a notice by mail about this change but you may receive nothing, bear in mind that all previous communications aStay away from this company to prevent shocking bills (Direct Energy, PO Box 1515, STN M, Calgary, AB T2P 4K2).

View full review
ID
#3096726 Review #3096726 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta

THEY ARE A RIPOFF

Hi, I was a loyal customer of Direct Energy for approximately 13 years or more for my current location. I always paid my account on time. I was on the budgeted plan until JULY 2021, when I received notice via my bill that this amount was increasing from $89.00 monthly to $107. I contacted direct energy customer services immediately letting them know that I will no longer require their services for my gas. I will look else where as I am on a fixed income and I cannot afford the increase. the 2 other CSRs, Tania and Kary after this occurred. When my final bill arrived dated Aug. 4 it included $107.00 which I told them I could not afford they both could not explain to me why I had to pay a budgeted amount when I was no longer a customer. I ASKED CSR TO NOTE IT ON MY ACCOUNT.tDODO Of the $326.88 on my final bill I made 2 payments of a total $299.99. I refused to pay the $107. WHY? From my perceptive I don't know why i should be paying explain it to me . NOW I AM BEING CHARGED LATE FEES. On top of that they a re threatening me with a collection agency for a little over $108.
View full review
1 comment
#2059206

Post a fourth time bro.

ID
#2850030 Review #2850030 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sherwood Park, Alberta

Ripped off

Hi, I was a loyal customer of Direct Energy for approximately 13 years or more for my current location. I always paid my account on time. I was on the budgeted plan until JULY 2021, when I received notice via my bill that this amount was increasing from $89.00 monthly to $107. I contacted direct energy customer services immediately letting them know that I will no longer require their services for my gas. I will look else where as I am on a fixed income and I cannot afford the increase. the 2 other CSRs, Tania and Kary after this occurred. When my final bill arrived dated Aug. 4 it included $107.00 which I told them I could not afford they both could not explain to me why I had to pay a budgeted amount when I was no longer a customer. Of the $326.88 on my final bill I made 2 payments of a total $299.99. I refused to pay the $107. WHY? From my perceptive I don't know why i should be paying explain it to me . NOW I AM BEING CHARGED LATE FEES. On top of that they a re threatening me with a collection agency for a little over $108. godd
View full review
ID
#2849976 Review #2849976 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sherwood Park, Alberta

PISSED OFF I WANT ANSWERS

Hi, I was a loyal customer of Direct Energy for approximately 13 years or more for my current location. I always paid my account on time. I was on the budgeted plan until JULY 2021, when I received notice via my bill that this amount was increasing from $89.00 monthly...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2849729 Review #2849729 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor service too expensive

Too expensive they dont give options the service is poor This company sucks Honestly I dont recommend to you this company Terrible!!! User's recommendation: I don’t recommend too bad experience here
View full review
View full review
5 comments
#2043220

Good morning, Jose. We are truly sorry to know you feel this way.

You are really important to us and we would love the opportunity to help you find the best plan to suits your energy needs and budget. Please reach us through any of our communication channels: * The Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ * The Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy * Through our Live Chat department at www.directenergy.com. We will work diligently to find the best plan for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you for the feedback.

Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

View more comments
ID
#2698754 Review #2698754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Texas City, Texas
Pros
  • No pros
  • Rates were great in the beginning
Cons
  • Sneaky rate increases
  • Over all experience
  • Direct energy fraud
Loss
$100000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

It’s been 8days with out a hot water tank our poor son who is in wheel chair can’t have shower

The worst services ever look at how many customer service people we talked to and absolutely nothing happened except after over thirty years of staying with these scammers we had no choice but to get some one else. Its terrible how I was treated on phone and lied to but one thing for sure hope they have all these recordings for quality control lol they didnt care about anything else except me signing contract for 16years16yearsanything

User's recommendation: Don’t use these people.

View full review
ID
#2643583 Review #2643583 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mississauga, Ontario

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Door to Door

Sales rep woke me up after knocking on the door several times, long story short they had confused my still waking mind into saying they was looking for a surplus fee that was charged to my account. Should of sent them away but considering my bill actually did go up the...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2019405

Hi Matthew C, we are saddened that you did not enjoy your experience with Direct Energy. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and to requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting.

Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action.

If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door.

Also, we would like to escalate your feedback please connect with us at: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/directenergy Chat at: www.directenergy.com Have a good day! - Zoeh / Digital Care

ID
#2576204 Review #2576204 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Service
Direct Energy Electricity Supply
Preferred solution
Nothing just cancel my stuff
New Reviewer

They ILLEGALLY opened up an account in my name. I am waiting on info from The Dept. Of Public Utilities and The Attouney Generals Office. These scammers must be stopped. by normal bill is $40-$50 p

They are scammers.....ILLEGALLY opened an account in my name. They cme to my door two or 3 times a week last year. I told them I was not interested. they ILLEGALLY opened an aacount in my name. I am seeking legal action

User's recommendation: Stay away...SCAMMERS.

View full review
1 comment
#2010254

Hello Carol. Thank you for taking the time to share this review.

We care for you and we would like to take a deeper look at your concern and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, or you can also chat with us through www.directenergy.com, it will be a pleasure to work with you and provide you a solution. We'll be waiting for you.

Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care

ID
#2533263 Review #2533263 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$222
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Another upset comsumer

Update by user May 29, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. My challenging DE resolved the issue, again!.

Update by user May 29, 2021

After many harassing calls and my challenging DE, they final advised that they had a mistake and nothing would effect my credit rating. This is the second occasion this has occurred and to put any customer through my experience is not pleasant. Like Trudeau says,...

View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2008363

Received more calls from International Collections demanding payment. The caller stated that they receive numerous lies and I would have to deal with Direct Energy and they have not told them of any errors.

View more comments
Resolved
ID
#2525444 Review #2525444 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Fraudulent billing and derogatory remarks

4 years after my contract expired with Direct Energy and switched to another provider , Direct Energy sends to collection agency and credit bureau $386 of unpaid bills. This is 4 years later! After going thru archives because Direct Energy he stated in providing...
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#2007547

Harassment appears to be their game to the consumers

View more comments
ID
#2476469 Review #2476469 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Continued to Be Charged After Electric Bill Contract Expired

Direct Energy - Continued to Be Charged After Electric Bill Contract Expired
Update by user Apr 17, 2021

So far, they have sent me a check for $300. They still owe me $170 for a subsequent bill.

Update by user Mar 18, 2021

Waiting on a reply and refund.

Original review posted by user Mar 18, 2021
My electric bill contract with Direct Energy expired in January 2021. Since then, they more than doubled my rate! I contacted them, filed a complaint...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1994540

Hi George, we pride ourselves on our professional service and we are very sorry that we lost your business. We normally sent the renewal letter 30-60 days prior to the end of your contract and we depend on the local company (American Electric Power) to complete your request since they are unable to cancel or process any change in the middle of your cycle.

Once again we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We wish you the best! - Zoeh / Digital Care

ID
#2463732 Review #2463732 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Direct Energy Electricity Supply
Loss
$286
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very Poor Customer Service/DE not fulfilling promises

Opened electric account with DE in mid Dec 2020. Was told by DE 4 times that they would inform Enmax that I was new electric account holder for the house in Calgary I rent. Today March 8 2021 i get letter from enmax telling me that due to no one having electric account...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2451394 Review #2451394 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
Service
Direct Energy Residential Electricity Supply
Cons
  • Refusal to acknowledge and rectify errors
  • Failure to fulfill obligations and promises
  • Customer service rude and incompetent
Preferred solution
My electric account re-activated & Direct Energy fulfill its promise from December and contact Enmax Calgary to let them know that I am electric utilities account holder before Enmax disconnects electric services which could be any day starting March 10!

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

STAY This company is the absolute WORST company I have ever dealt with. I honestly cannot express enough how awful this company is. Sales representatives are complete scammers, billing department is completely incompetent and unprofessional. They don't know what the heck they're doing, they don't know what the heck they're talking about and they don't have any common sense. I terminated my services with them after my 2 year contract was up with them. They never answered my termination email, and now 15 months later I have to deal with a collection agency to finish paying the last month of service provided by direct energy. No email that a balance was due, no letter in the mail, no phone call, NOTHING. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY! STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY, STAY AWAYYYY!
View full review
1 comment
#1990553

Good afternoon, Victoria. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you describe on this review.

We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at your account and help in any way we can. Please connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can please contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care

ID
#2443822 Review #2443822 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Direct Energy Gas Supply
Cons
  • Being scammed
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article